Stroke of Midnight

Standard

Where were you when 2013 turned into 2014? Is that where you’d wanted to be?

When the year turned into 2014, I was laying in a hospital bed in the general surgery unit. I might as well tell the story while the opportunity presents itself. On December 27 I began having horrible pains in my chest, I thought I was having a heart attack. So, my husband takes me to the nearest (not the best in the world by far) hospital, and they run tests on me. In the end of that visit, they tell me send me off with the idea that it was just my cold (I did have a cold), tonsillitis, and basically acid reflux. I knew he was wrong, but I took his word for it because I didn’t know what else to do. I couldn’t eat because every time I did I had that horrible pain, so I tried not to eat. I blamed the pain, ridiculously, on my stomach muscles being tired of contracting because I had blown my nose so much. The next day I laid in bed and tried not to let the pain begin again, I knew that it hurt when I ate, so I only had the broth from chicken noodle soup. On the 29th I thought I would be able to eat something solid again, so I tried to eat a chicken biscuit. The pain did come back and I (sorry for t.m.i.) tried to make the pain go away by throwing up, but it was not letting up. We got in the car and went to a better hospital and they did an ultrasound of my gallbladder and eventually told me that my gallbladder was full of gallstones and I had a gallstone stuck in my common bile duct, which was causing all of the pain. They scheduled me to have surgery the following morning to have my gallbladder removed. On the 30th at around 8am I went in for my first ever surgery. When I came out I was sore, but I did honestly feel better. I ate dinner with no problems, so they told me that I could go home the next day if I was still feeling well. On the 31st (New Years Eve!) I got to finally go home, I was so excited and could not wait to go home. The ride home was very bumpy and painful because of the surgery. As soon as I got out of the car I felt nauseous and threw up. I went inside and tried to go to sleep for a few hours in my comfy bed. After a while of having no pain besides from the surgery, my husband brought me some oatmeal and apple slices and I ate and took my pain reliever. Not long after, I began having that horrible pain and didn’t know what to do. Again, I tried to get some relief by vomiting, and in doing that I also threw up my medication, so I couldn’t take any more to see if that would work. Shortly after midnight we were in the car on our way back to the hospital. I ended up having my surgery to remove that gallstone at around 4 or 5 that afternoon, I believe. I stayed in the hospital overnight and got to go home on the 2nd. After that I have felt 100% better. So, that was how I brought in the New Year.

Leave a Reply

