Childhood Music

Standard

Reading the prompt to this challenge, I found myself questioning how did I get my musical taste? One memory I have was when I was very young and my parents were still together, we would all (them, me, and my older brother) go riding on dirtroads and listen to music and just ride. Were they always happy moments that didn’t end up in someone fighting with each other? No, they weren’t. But there were times when I think we would all just stare out of the window and there was one old abandoned barn that I used to love to see when we rode by. It was the same every time, but I couldn’t get enough. We would listen to whatever rock stations were out then, but one song I know that came on often was Drivin’ and Cryin’s “Straight to Hell.” How sweet, I know. Another was Alice in Chains “Rooster.” I think that definitely influenced the music I listen to now which is mostly alternative rock and music from the 90’s. Later on, when I was in my teenage years, my mom would listen to a lot of Brooks and Dunn. I need to buy her a new cd, I think she would like it. She also loves Elvis and Conway Twitty.

In response to- Daily Prompt: Papa Loves Mambo

Leave a Reply

